Surrounded by Darkness

Surrounded By Darkness
©2012 Kirby Sanders

 “You are surrounded by darkness”, she said to me.

“Yes, I know”, said I to her. “But what can you tell me?”

“I cannot see through the darkness”, she said to me.

 

“Neither can I, sweetheart”, I said to her.

She removed her hands from a crystal ball. A flicker from the lone candle flared off of her large ruby ring, emitting a brief beam that shone like a laser the crimson color of burning blood.

I arose from the table and dropped her a ten. She was unresponsive – not awake, not asleep. I turned away from the gothic parlor. Pushed aside a heavy curtain and walked out into the street. No closer to an answer than before. No further away.

I turned and walked along the broken sidewalk – step before undetermined step on shades of grey and shadows black. Sullied my shoes in an orange puddle illuminated by a streetlamp.

Looking for something.

 

Stray cats yowling crossed my path. In an alleyway lay a crumpled form. A man either dead or homeless and sleeping. I did not stop to see which. Either way, it was not my concern.

I must have walked the night away – looking for a clue. But there were no clues.

Come the pink and purple dawn, I found I was back where I started. I pushed the heavy curtain aside and re-entered the gothic room. She still sat at the table – conscious but not responsive, the lone large candle sputtering and almost spent.

“Did you find what you sought?”, she asked eyes closed.

“No”, said I to her. “I found nothing”.

“Perhaps”, said she, “nothing is what you are destined to find”.

“I hope not”, said I to her. “Is nothing what I am seeking?”

“You remain surrounded by darkness”, she said to me.

“Yes, I know”, said I to her. “But what can you tell me now?”

“I still cannot see through the darkness”, she said to me.

“Neither can I, sweetheart”, I said to her. “Neither can I.”

Leave a Reply

